Issue 11, 2021/2022

Upcoming Swim Meets

There are a number of upcoming swim meets that will keep our swimmers busy training and competing over the coming months.

Speedo Sprint Series – Sunday 13th February

The Speedo Sprint Series caters for girls and boys aged between 8-13 years in 50m Freestyle, Breaststroke, Backstroke and Butterfly events and is a great way to have fun and learn new skills in a friendly environment.

The meet will be held at SOPAC. Entries close Thursday 3rd February.

We encourage all of our club swimmers in the 8-13 year age groups to enter the meet and we look forward to having a large team at SOPAC for the meet.

Merrylands SwimFest – Saturday 19th February

This our club’s major meet for the season and will be held at Merrylands Swimming Centre. Entries are open online and close on Saturday, 5th February. This is our club's major carnival so it is expected that all club swimmers will attend the meet.

We will of course require the assistance of all of our swimmers parents & carers, so please see Graham to confirm you are available to assist on the day.

Metro South West Area Championships - Saturday 26th February & Sunday 27th February

This is our areas major championship meet and will be held at SOPAC. Entries close Wednesday 16th February.

Information about all of these and more meets is available on the club website. More information on how to enter is here.

COVID-19 Safety Protocols

Information & Conditions for Attendees are regularly updated and the latest information can be found here

With COVID-19 currently being active in our local community it is important that everyone take steps to reduce the risk of transmission and remain up to date on the conditions of entry.

We have a number of club championships still to be held this season and interruptions to individual swimmers plans may occur. The ability to swim eligibility swims for championship events may be affected so we strongly recommend that swimmers plan and undertake their eligibility swims as early in the season as possible, rather than leaving these swims to the last week available before the Championship event is to be swum.

A reminder that a failure by a swimmer to swim an eligibility swim will preclude their participation in that Championship.

Championship Results – 22nd January 2022

50m Butterfly

Age Group

1st

2nd

3rd

Girls 9 years

Ruby Shrestha

 

 

Girls 10 years

Aisha Abdelraheem

 

 

Girls 11 years

Lisa Shrestha

 

 

Boys 11 years

Unish Shrestha

Joab Hada

 

Girls 13 years

Summer Shrestha

Niushka Shrestha

Ameena Adbelraheem

Womens 15 years

Keira Somarchand

 

 

Womens 16 years

Laura-Belle Casey

Darla Assi

Vanessa Ozols

Womens 17 years & Over

Katie Hope

 

 

Mens 17 years & Over

Peter Johnston

 

 

Mens 35 years & over

Ian Wilson

 

 

 

25m Butterfly

Mixed

1st

2nd

3rd

 

Jay Shrestha

Gabriella Assi

 

 

Upcoming Championship & Meet Calendar

MEET NAME

MEET DATE

ENTRY CLOSING

MASC 50m, 25m & 200m (Open) Breaststroke Championships

Saturday 29th January

Closed

MASC 400m Freestyle Championship

Saturday 29th January

Closed

MASC 50m, 25m & 200m (Open) Freestyle Championships

Saturday 5th February

Thursday 3rd February

MASC 50m, 25m & 200m (Open) Backstroke Championships

Saturday 12th February

Thursday 10th February

MASC 200m Individual Medley Championships

Saturday 12th February

Thursday 10th February

Speedo Sprint Series - Heats

Sunday 13th February

Thursday 3rd February

MASC SwimFest

Saturday 19th February

Saturday 5th February

MSW Area LC Championships

Saturday 26th February

Sunday 27th February

Wednesday 16th February

NSW State Open Championships

Friday 4th March

Sunday 6th March

Tuesday 22nd February

MASC 800m (Open) Freestyle Championship

Saturday 12th March

Thursday 10th March

Speedo Sprint Series - Finals

Saturday 12th March

Qualify via Heats

NSW Senior Metropolitan Championships

Saturday 19th March

Sunday 20th March

TBA

MASC 1500m (Open) Freestyle Championship

Saturday 26th March

Thursday 24th March

NSW Junior State Age Championships

Saturday 26th March

Sunday 27th March

Tuesday 15th March

MSW 5 – 8 Meet

Saturday 2nd April

TBA

Australian Masters Championships

Wednesday 20th April

Saturday 23rd April

Friday 8th April

Australian Masters Open Water Championships

Sunday 24th April

Friday 8th April

Sponsors

We receive great support from our club sponsors and we thank them for this support.

Add comment

Loading